Amusing Muesli

Standard

My muesli making idea became a little bit of a debacle.  The end result turned out fantastic, but it was not what it was meant to be.  As it was I tweaked the original recipe  I found that linked to Martha Stewart a little because we are a nut free environment at school and take out the Hazelnuts. So I substituted them with a cup that was a mix of quinoa, flaxseed, flaxseed meal, sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds.  Having the banana chips in it is basically like having the nuts in it anyways. Then after I went to bed I realized that I had forgotten half the wet ingredients.  There was meant to be coffee, extra water and salt in it.  I started to worry that it wouldn’t taste any good and I would either have to scrap it or just deal with it not tasting as it should.  Amazingly it turned out fantastic!   So here goes with the actual recipe

Annette’s Nut Free Muesli

Ingredients

1/4 cup Butter

1/3 cup packed Brown Sugar

3 Cups Traditional Oats

1/4 cup Flaxseed Meal

1/4 cup Flaxseed

1/4 cup Quinoa

1/4 cup Pumpkin and Sunflower Seed Mix

1 cup Banana Chips

Method

Preheat Oven to 350F (175C)

In a Large Bowl, combine all dry ingredients.

In a small Saucepan melt butter and sugar together.  When melted add to dry ingredients and mix together well.  Spread out mixture onto baking trays and place in oven.  Bake for 30-35 min checking frequently ( I checked every 10 min just to be sure as my last batch burnt)  When it has cooled add the Banana Chips (not in picture) and stir through.

Then voilà, there you have it AMAZING NUT FREE MUESLI 

Leave a Reply

