I survived with desserts!

Standard

So I survived the storm that we had..WOOHOOO! The day after was the most interesting though as we had another flood..the 2nd in two years. Some towns were again devastated by the rising flood waters.  But as Anna Bligh said 12 mths ago..we are Queenslanders and we are strong, we will rebuild again. 

As I mentioned in the last post I would show you a picture of the cake I made during the height of the storm.  It was a Duncan Hines Chocolate Fudge Cake with Cream cheese frosting…none of this is really from pinterest..except the idea of making into 2 cakes and not just one 🙂

Choc Fudge Cake

Choc Fudge Cake

Since the storm there have been a few other treats that I have tried.  There were the Spicy Apple-Glazed Meatballs…the photo is a little average so I wont be putting those up..I made them with chicken and they were a little moist…but still really tasty. I will be making these again in the winter when it cools down!

Then there was my Buffalo Wings for SUPERBOWL! I bought a bottle of Frank’s Red Hot Wing sauce on a recent trip to Melbourne, from the David Jones food hall.  I have been saving it for a special occasion and had Superbowl in mind when I got it. My brother was in two minds about having wings..but he changed his mind as he asked me to bring it and the hot-dog condiments along when I went to his place for the game.  We just used the regular recipe, but we used a lot less better than it said. We coated the wings with a mixture of flour paprika, cayenne pepper, and a few other secret ingredients, then we dry baked them in the oven at 350F (280C) for about 20 min.  They would be super amazing just by themselves at this stage, with mybe a bit of honey mustard or ranch sauce for dinning.  But that is just a side note, we smothered the wings in sauce and butter and ate away.  They were the most amazing wings I have ever tasted!  Even better than the wings I had at Max’s Memphis BBQ in Red Hook, Upstate NY, when I was at Summer Camp.  And they were pretty amazing!

My Superbowl Buffalo Wings

My Superbowl Buffalo Wings

One more thing I have done recently has been try try this recipe for Nutella and Banana Crepes from Martha Stewart.  I didn’t make the crepes, I used store bought frozen crepes and just heated the whole lot up in the microwave.  Following the thawing method for the crepes initially then adding the filling of Nutella and Banana’s and microwaving the whole lot together to make it warm and gooey.  I have a photo somewhere but I can’t find my camera in my bag here at work.  I will add it when I get home tonight.

On a side note I have started practicing my for my Birthday cake (which is next month).  It is also from Pinterest, but it is a secret from most of my family members as to what it will actually look like, so after my birthday I will do a post of all the testing that is currently taking place for it, as well as the final product.

Leave a Reply

