The week that was…

Standard

In one of my last posts I mentioned that my photo’s weren’t streaming…well they decided that today was the day to make me happy. So this means that I have a few more things to write about than normal.

I made a dish last week when my sister and brother in law came for dinner that I found not too long ago.  This is the link for it here.  There was only one problem (and usually I check this before I re-pin stuff) it was not in English, it was in Polish.  Google translate very quickly became my friend and I translated it, then saved it for future reference.  This is the translation just so it saves you a bit of time mucking about. It translates to Chicken Ham with Asparagus.

 

Chicken Ham with Asparagus. 

• 1 large single chicken breast or two smaller, about 400 g

• salt and freshly ground black pepper

• 1 tablespoon of flour

• 4 slices of serrano ham (you can use other dried hams such as Parma ham or thinly sliced lean bacon)

• 1 bunch green asparagus

• 2 tablespoons olive oil

• 4 tablespoons green pesto (purchased or home, or from the following recipe)

• 80 ml ​​of 30% cream

• leaves with half bundle (pot) basil

Prepare the pesto and cook new potatoes (if using), or bread. Rinse chicken, pat dry, cut fibers, dice, slice crosswise into thin fillets (I used two small breasts and every przekroiłam for 2 thinner fillets). Sprinkle with sea salt (not too much, because the ham is salty), coat with flour and wrap in slices of serrano ham, set aside.

Wash the asparagus, snap off woody ends of the light (the same break in the right place). The stems and cut into several pieces. Put the basket for steaming or put in a sieve. Strainer basket, or hang on a pot of boiling water and cook for 5 minutes or until asparagus are tender. Immediately transfer the asparagus with cold water and set aside.

In a skillet heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil and place chicken breasts prepared with ham. Cook for 6 minutes, then transferred to the other side and cook for another 5 minutes. Pour in the cream, add the pesto and gently mix. Add the asparagus and set aside after boiling from the heat (sauce should thicken slightly) and season if necessary with salt and freshly ground pepper. Sprinkle with basil leaves and serve with potatoes or bread.

Chicken Ham with Asparagus

Chicken Ham with Asparagus

For some of the recipe I just did some of my own thing, and I replaced the cream with a tin of evaporated milk, which works just as well and is much healthier.   It was very delicious and I will be making it again!

During the week at work, I didn’t really take any lunch with me so I had to find something that had very limited ingredients, and didn’t take very long.  I remembered that I had pinned some microwave 1 person serve dessert type recipes.  The link goes to this page, which is basically just a picture with the ingredient measurements and how long to cook it for.  I have made it twice this week, both with great results.  However I found that I had to add more water than it said as it seemed super gooey.  The second time I made it I added a little peppermint essence for a bit of a twist.  It too was a good idea.  The mix turned out a little rubbery, but it was still super amazing and all the kids at work wanted to taste it.  Here is a picture of the finished product!

Chocolate Microwave cake

Chocolate Microwave cake

During the last week I have also cracked out a Snickers and Caramel Apple salad.  This is from over at Chef in Training.  It is beyond words…We had it for dessert, but then I had a snickers free version for breakfast at school this week.  It was snickers free bc of the nut allergies of the kids at school, but in the comments at the bottom of the recipes people said that they used Mars Bars (or Milky Ways) and I think that would be just as good.  I didn’t follow the recipe to the letter though.  As we don’t have cool whip here I had to find a substitute.  I found this recipe on Yanks Down Under, where they basically put gelatine into whipped cream, icing sugar and vanilla.  I think it worked really well and had a great taste, so i omitted the vanilla pudding mix.   Well really I did this for a couple of reasons 1) I forgot to buy it at the store and 2) some people said it ruined the taste.  So i went with my gut instinct of no.  And I’m glad I did bc it tasted amazing! And looked pretty good on Instagram too!

Snickers and Caramel Apple Salad

Snickers and Caramel Apple Salad

 

That about sums up the last few days.  I have re-made some recipes though which was also fun and I think this time they were much better!

Leave a Reply

