Easy Caprese and Dessert

Standard

Sunday night dinners need to be easy.

And that is exactly what I did last night!

I found this easy Sunday Dinner, Creamy Caprese Quinoa Bake, over at Half Baked Harvest.  The picture on Pinterest looked soooo amazing I just had to try it!  It turned out to be so much easier than I had thought.

I used giant Bocconcini instead of Mozzarella, as the Mozzarella isn’t the same here as it is in the States.  It worked just as well, which was good.  I used Tri-coloured Quinoa which made the dish much more interesting looking.  There was enough left over to have as a side with dinner tonight.  So in actual fact an easy Sunday Dinner, turned into an easy Monday Dinner too! 🙂

Easy Caprese

 

Dessert was another story, it was not at all easy.  It wasn’t difficult either, there was just a lot of dishes to wash up.

But they were Amazing.  The ‘they’ being Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting.

OMG there are no words to describe how AMAZING they are!

The recipe for these delicious mounds of amazingness came from over at Shugary Sweets.  There are not many ingredients needed to make these little beauties either, which is always good if you need dessert in a pinch!

As we don’t have tinned pumpkin here that meant that I had to cook it off first.  I have now found that by cooking it in the microwave cooks the pumpkin, but doesn’t leave it all soggy.  Which made some unnecessary dishes, but thems the breaks I suppose.

It made a few more than the recipe said, which is a bonus, and would have made more had I not eaten so much of the batter.  I have taken one to school for my friend so far and I am taking some more to a get-together tomorrow with some co-workers, so I can’t wait to hear their reaction.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

