Elf on the Shelf

Standard

We started a new tradition at OSHC last week.  Our Elf (now called North) arrived from the North Pole.

I had wrapped the book and the elf in the box that it arrived in from The Book Depository (just quietly the best book website around).  They have free delivery WORLDWIDE!! I then put the box into the fridge for a couple of hours for it to cool down to the temperature of the North Pole.  When I pulled the box set out of the wrapping I got a better than expected result and the plastic over the elf had frosted over.  The kidos all felt the box as I said it was still cold from the North Pole, and I was met with oooh’s and ahhhh’s about its temperature.  The sat so silently to listen to the story and then we spoke about the rules the book mentioned.  He happily sat on a chair all afternoon in his box while the little kidos chatted to him.  When the last 2 girls for the afternoon were watching TV the elf ‘disappeared’, I’m guessing back to the North Pole.

The Parcel and Letter Santa left for us

The Parcel and Letter Santa left for us

My next issue was “What is the elf going to do tomorrow?????”.  This is where Pinterest comes in!!  There are so many boards and idea floating around in cyber space that so far (3days in mind you) I haven’t had any issues with ideas.

The first day the elf was swinging from the door to the toy cupboard.  We have had a couple of mishaps with falling off from there so we told the Kidos that the teachers could pick him up with tinsel and put him back up.  After he fell off the swing he sat on the top of the cupboard for the rest of the day.  They all swear that he moved that afternoon!

The second was Monday morning, and I had propped him up on top of my modem next to my computer.  Now I had put him there to keep him safe over the weekend, but because I didn’t work on Monday morning that is where he stayed.  The Kidos suggested it was to keep an eye on me! During the afternoon several kids took the opportunity to sit in the air conditioning, the office to talk to the elf and start telling him what they wished for for Christmas. It is SOOOOOOOO cute but I have a feeling the parents are less than excited as the kids are wanting to come to care more frequently.

Today the Elf was on a date with one of the barbies in the barbie convertible on a road in the toy cupboard.  Now he appears in here a lot as our hall is a shared space with our parish.  He is really in there to keep our preparation safe from the renters!  We had a mishap today when one of the children with ASD happened to accidentally pick up North and bring him outside, some of the other children nearly lost it.  I have taken North out of the car and put him in the freezer for the afternoon session and left a cute note on the car saying he was at the North Pole getting better and he would be back in the morning!  I hope the kids aren’t too disappointed this afternoon.

Tomorrow brings another day and another Elf antic.

Leave a Reply

