And so this is Christmas – Part 2

Standard

Today is Boxing Day (WOOHOOOOOOOO)…which is feel is the equivalent of Black Friday sales.  I have chosen to avoid them this year.

I have finally mustered enough energy to write the 2nd post of the 2 part holiday special.

Taking up where I left off, bought some Egg Nog last year, never having had it before and it turns out that I love it! So this year I bought some more, this time they had cinnamon flavour available too…now i didn’t like this as much as the regular Egg Nog, but all can be forgiven.  I have used these in a couple of recipes in the last couple of weeks.  First I made this Egg Nog Coffee Cake through a link to Mandy’s Recipe Box.  Now I did a couple of things different.  I used a tub of plain chobani 0% yoghurt instead of the sour cream, and i didn’t realise at the time I made it you are supposed to put it in the fridge for a while.  I wanted cake then and there so that didn’t happen….It still worked fine and was a hit with everyone!

Egg Nog Coffee Cake - pre baking

Egg Nog Coffee Cake – pre baking

We made these tiles a couple of days before we closed for the holidays.  Now the idea for these are all over pinterest.  I used Mod Podge to seal them then sprayed them with a can of acrylic to make sure they were fine to use with water as coasters.  The washi tape was on sale at Officeworks, I think I got it for about 70c -90c from a bin near the registers.  The red stars on the white background were much more popular than I anticipated!  Here is a couple of shots of the final products.

Here is a list with links to a few of the other recipes that I have used over the last few days

Maple Cinnamon Nuts

Bacon, Scallion and Caramelized Onion Dip

Martha Stewart – Classic French Toast

Ice-cream Christmas Cake

Pancetta and Sage Stuffing Muffins (we did ours in a loaf tin though)

Raspberry Frost Sodas

A couple of non consumable links are my present wrapping idea and my gift tags.  The gift tags that I used were just so cute.  They are from over at Mommy by Day, Crafter by Night. And there are so many more styles than the ones I used.  I also use washi tape and brown paper to wrap my presents.  I don’t have a link to the exact site where I got the idea from, here are 2 website that have similar ideas.  The first is Curbly and the wash tape idea is at number 2 and the second is this photo over at Flickr.

So between all these ideas and the gift tags this was the end product.

My gift wrapping for 2013

My gift wrapping for 2013

I’m not sure where we would have been without Pinterest this year.  It has certainly made this holiday season MUCH MUCH easier.

So from my family to yours, I hope you have had a very merry and blessed holiday season.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Leave a Reply

